Life one stitch at a time…

Everyone give some love to my guest writer and sister. She’s wrote a great piece teaching us the importance of a hobby to relax our minds and souls. Crotcheting is a great ‘vintage’ hobby inspired by the past. A hobby many of our grandmothers used to do. A hobby that not only is good for yourself, but often gives back in the form of gifts for loved ones. We should all try and take note from my sister and carry on a tradition and hobby passed on from a greater generation. ENJOY!

image

 

 

Life one stitch at a time…
My grandmother use to crochet. She’s made I’d bet at least 100 blankets and endless amounts of other things. She crocheted me a Barbie doll cheer outfit once and I’m sure almost every person in her life had received something from time to time. She taught me how to do it once and it was just like riding a bike. She taught me how to stitch a chain and then how to turn. I felt like I had a super power. It was amazing to be able to make something with my hands. I never made much. I think I tried to make a gator for my dad once but it didn’t quite fit the description. Something that looked like a golf club cover ended up on one of his drivers and bless his heart it was ugly as sin, but he kept it there. Now that I’m an adult, I crochet all the time and I have a brand new outlook on any item she made me. The blankets I have aren’t just knots of yarn. These blankets are made up of endless hours of her focus and attention. Endless hours of her diligence spent for me and only me at that particular time. It meant time when she thought about life, her family, God, and all the things she had accomplished…I’ve spent several nights crocheting and thinking about life. Thinking about these little stitches and this skill that I’m not very good at. Here’s what I e concluded. All things in life take focus. I stare at my hands for hours on end and feel at peace. Focus is a peaceful feeling. I thinking about the discipline of the ever so simple act of crocheting and I pat myself on the back for doing it. I think of the endless list of things I should be doing and I grin and keep on pulling on the yarn. Isn’t that the lesson that crocheting can teach us? Sometimes mastering the art of focus and simplicity is the exact skill needed to help us in our hectic lives. While we are told that a simple life is best and I fully agree with that, sometimes we need stepping stones on how to make our lives simple. I fully believe one thing that can help us is finding something in your life that involves quiet and diligent focus. Writing a blog, crocheting a blanket, scrap booking, canning green beans… all are skills that accomplish something and reintroduce us to ourselves. The focus of perfecting these tasks are so beneficial. Now, tomorrow when my life merges back onto a 90mph highway, I can know that my heart is calm and at peace because I’m centered. I’m focused. I feel at ease and all it cost me was a couple hours of staring at my hands.. creating something new.

image

My sister is on the right holding the phone. I’m on the left!

Remember it’s her birthday Friday! Wish her a happy 30th!

3 thoughts on “Life one stitch at a time…

Leave a Reply

