Time Passing and My Funny Pregnancy Story


There’s something that I have always been sentimental about and it’s time passing. Growing up, things changing, etc. From a very early age I knew the importance of cherishing a moment and that it would soon pass. My mom always described me with having a “big heart” or “big feelings”. Well it’s true. I can cry at the drop of the hat and nothing gets me more than revisiting the past, but even more so thinking about current moments becoming the past. As I got older I got better at controlling those emotions and getting a little perspective. Well this was true until I got pregnant. 

Oh and then it hit a whole new level. Every little thing would get me going and I don’t just mean cry… I mean bawl my eyes out. I will never forget Ben looking over at me watching the end of Furious 7 with a look of concern as I was having a complete mental break down. When my sister had showed up to get me to go to the football game he had to go outside and tell her it would be a minute until I gathered myself. Well this just got worse. I often found myself thinking where did time go. Any little song, movie. At work the Dixie Chick song that says “children get older, I’m getting older too” would come on the radio everyday and as I was cleaning someone’s teeth I literally had to use everything in my power to not just break down in tears. It was quite comical honestly. Emotional pregnant women is a fact people! I am here to tell you to believe it. 

The worst of my mental state came a week after my daughter was born. My husband casually mentioned in our sleep deprived state that Evelinn was a week old today and I literally lost it. I cried for hours explaining to Ben how could it already be a week and times going by way to fast. He, laughing of course, was telling me it was alright. Now looking back on it I had to look like a crazy person, but all those hormones and for a person with “big emotions” already… it was quite lovely to put it nicely. 

With that said, in my emotional state I was right in the fact that cherishing a moment is very important. Time passes so quickly you literally can’t blink. That’s what I love about being a stay at home mom. I am home for so many of those moments and can experience them with my daughter. It is the biggest blessing I could ever ask for. 

9 thoughts on “Time Passing and My Funny Pregnancy Story

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I can totally empathize with the “big emotions” you wrote about. I can cry at a moment’s notice. Your post did it this time. I suddenly recalled my kids being tiny and how wonderful those days were. I was overcome with the desire to be living those days now. But take heart. As quickly as I wanted those baby days back I remembered how great it is now that they’re grown.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. allthingsmumweb says:

    It’s so true what you wrote in your post. Cherishing those moments are so important. My first born is now four and I honestly can’t tell you where the time has went. It’s quite emotional thinking about. However, at the same time I’m quite proud to watch him grow into the young boy he is becoming. Loved reading your post. Was truly a great read. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ladybug165 says:

    I sure remember those days ! I have four daughters and now my middle one is due in December ! It’s a trying time but it’s worth in the end to have a beautiful healthy baby! That’s what I keep telling her ! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

