This Recipe, By Miracle, Was a Success!

cheeseburger

So like I wrote about last night I was trying a new recipe not knowing whether it would be delicious or major failure. Well, more like I threw some food items in a bowl mixed them together and hoped they somewhat would taste like a cheeseburger. I’ve been trying to find a way to be able to make a burger without the bread and I am happy to report I created a successful recipe. Something I believe my grandmother would be proud of. I had my doubts when half way through cooking my ‘Cheeseburger Pie’ I opened my oven and the pie was sitting in an inch of juices. It didn’t look that appetizing to be honest, but I drained the fat and juices from the vegetables from my pies and it actually started to shape up nicely. I cooked it for another 22 minutes and it actually started to look like two giant cheeseburgers. I then added the cheese and melted it on top of my dishes for five minutes pulled them out of the oven and then it was the moment of truth… tasting my creation. I was very pleased as I took my first bite. It tasted exactly like a cheeseburger and you didn’t miss the bun at all. So I successfully made a dish for my family that I created on my own.

See I am like everyone else. I usually cook old family recipes, fail safe go-tos, and recipes from Pinterest. Yes, Pinterest is the place where many of us find new recipes to try out for ourselves. It’s the site that is there to inspire us and I personally love. There is no doubt in my mind if my grandmothers and great-grandmothers would have had Pinterest in their day they would have used it with pride right alongside their cookbooks. Oh, but today I did it on my own just like my grandmother was so great at doing herself. I created my own dish that my husband loved and would eat again. Like I said yesterday evening it is very daunting trying something new, but when it works out for the best, it is totally worth it.

Here is my recipe… I hope you enjoy!

Vintage Feminist’s Ranch Cheeseburger Pie

Ingredients

2 lbs. hamburger or whatever type of burger you would like.

Half a yellow onion diced

1 can of diced tomatoes, drained, juices squeezed out

Hamburger pickles, diced (quantity your choice)

2 packets of ranch seasoning

Shredded Cheese (type, your choice)

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

In a large bowl, mix hamburger, onion, tomatoes, pickles, ranch seasoning and a handful of the cheese you have chosen for your dish. In two 9-inch pie pans equally separate meat mixture and press down into pan. Place in oven until no longer pink. (I cooked mine for 30 minutes, drained the juices, and then cooked for another 22 minutes). Then add the rest of your cheese to top of dish and place back into oven until cheese has melted and began to bubble. Take out, serve, enjoy!

*The picture above is not of my pies, but looks very similar. I forgot to take a picture before I had already cut and served them.

3 thoughts on “This Recipe, By Miracle, Was a Success!

Leave a Reply

