The Guilt of a Housewife.

housework

Housewives can carry a certain amount of guilt when it comes to house work. Well, if your anything like me you do anyway. There always seems to be one day a week… usually Saturday’s… when I look at my messy house and think if I have to pick this house up one more time then I am going to go CRAZY. I have no idea how I get the house looking presentable every day and then its like magic… I wake up and its a mess again. Of course all adults, men and women alike, feel this way once in a while and props to all who work and manage to keep their house constantly clean with small children, but for a house wife it is a tad different.

Personally, I feel like there is no excuse for me to NOT have the house clean every day. I suffer from guilt every once in a while because there are toys littered about and dishes in the sink because as a homemaker that is part of my job. I feel as I can’t rationalize it with excuses such as I have had a stressful day at work or I haven’t been home long enough to pick things up. Even though the children might not be cooperating the best that day or you’ve not had a minute alone in days I still can’t seem to tell myself that it is alright to not have a clean house every once in a while. I’m sure you other mothers/homemakers/housewives all know the feeling. It is something similar to the feeling of forgetting something, but can’t seem to remember what. That is what it feels like to me mixed with the feeling of your skin crawling, anxiety and pure mental exhaustion, but for all the other homemakers out there I am here to try and help us all feel better about pushing your job aside for a day.

I have to tell myself it is perfectly fine to have a day where your job isn’t done. I also mean not just a day where you have other plans and neglect that house work, but days where you sit in the midst of it all and are simply just lazy. A day where you sit on your bed, do something you enjoy and watch a movie. A day where you catch up on a good book or Netflix an a entire mind-numbing television series. We all need days like this. Homemakers need a day off too and I hope you all get one very soon.

15 thoughts on “The Guilt of a Housewife.

  1. Sheri Welch says:

    Give yourself a break πŸ™‚ a housewife works 7 days a week 24 hours a day. No other profession does that. And there’s a reason for that……everybody needs a day or 2 off to rest and recharge!!! A housewife should get the same thing!! So it’s ok to take a break from it all, even a couple hours at a time helps to refresh you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nocturnalmomtalks says:

    I sometimes do this. There’s a mountain of clothes waiting to be folded and arranged but sometimes, I feel like I deserve a quiet time- which means watch my favorite series. As long as we finish everything afterwards, it should be fine πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bakeforgranted says:

    What a great post! So true, I don’t think that you can be great at doing any job, including staying at home, without having breaks. It is nice when people remember that staying at home doesn’t mean you don’t do anything all day long!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bisimodupe1975 says:

    I remember just yesterday like needed to cook after returning from work. Guess what I did… I showered, sat down in front of the TV, even chatted on my phone. Then I drank Gari – cassava flakes with my kids. All these I did monitoring when my dear husband will get home. I felt rested and not under any pressure to cook until I was ready. And we all had fun in the end. The icing on the cake was that I was relaxed enough to enjoy intimacy with the dear husband later*wink*. So play woman if you feel like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fabiola Rodriguez says:

    Ugh, yes. Housewife guilt is awful! But being a housewife is actually such a difficult job. The long hours, the stress, the tedious tasks, and so on. But considering that as housewives we never ever get a day a off and work 24/7, I think we have the right to take a break once in a while.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ArtReach says:

    My biggest housewife guilt used to be leaving dirty dishes in the kitchen sink. But now when I’m especially tired, I’ve learned that dirty dishes from tonight’s dinner will still be there tomorrow morning. Housework is necessary. Exhaustion is optional.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

