Babies Sleep Regression…


Hello Everyone, 

The last two weeks my daughter has not been sleeping as well as she always had. We were blessed when it came to our newborn sleeping. After going through the first two months sleeping sporadically because of her feeding schedule she began sleeping through the night. She has slept in a pack-n-play bassinet next to our bed and we received the wonderful Owlet baby monitor that she wore every night. The only way I could sleep, by the way, was because of that wonderful monitor. New Mom anxiety… what can I say. Anyway, it has stumped us why Evelinn has decided to wake up every night once again. Why now? Well she’s been teething, growing, etc. We’ve tried a bottle before bed, AR Medicine, gas medicine… nothing has helped. Could it be a phase? Possibly. When reading about what I could possibly do to help out our baby girl sleep better again I came across sleep regression. Well it seems to be normal from 8 months to 10 months old. Who knew?! Not me. So this could be a phase and we hope it’s over soon. Now while it hasn’t been horrible and I know we are still very blessed it does make my husband and I a tad tired throughout the day. 

Have any of you moms out there been through a sleep regression with your children OR found a reason they weren’t sleeping as they usually did? I would LOVE to hear your experiences. 

15 thoughts on “Babies Sleep Regression…

  1. Sherry says:

    Get yourself a copy of the book The Wonder Weeks, it goes over regressions and emotional developments that can mess with a baby’s sleep. Right now, my little guy, who’s hardly a baby anymore at 23.5 months, is going through his own regression. But now he can climb out of his crib and meow. So… you have that to look forward to. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kewrites says:

    I think it is perfectly normal, kinds have the tendency to have sleep regression when going through growth (growing to a new stage). My 29months toddler experienced that when he was trying to talk. And since he could climb out of his cot, I only heard some lil hands tapping me in the middle of the night:-). I understand it must be very tiring for you but this too shall pass. Enjoy being mama

    Like

  3. sondiestrat says:

    We had a TERRIBLE 4 month sleep regression! She would wake up what seemed like every 30 minutes! It was nuts. She’s almost 8 months now and easily sleeps through the night (although she is a 6am waker which I wish she wasn’t but I’ll take a long sleeper any day), so I hope she doesn’t regress again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • VintageFeminist says:

      Our daughter didn’t have any problems sleeping at 4 months, but had horrible AR at 4 months though which our doctor told us is peak time for that. It was rough for a few days a lot of not just spitting up, but throwing up πŸ˜• poor thing! Most importantly praise the Lord we been very blessed!

      Like

  4. Heather says:

    Healthy Sleep Habits Happy Baby is a good book to review when regressions will hit and why they happen. They discuss so many ways to work through the issues. Good just to understand how and ‘when’ things develop. I found this resource stronger than the Wonder Weeks, to be frank. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mirrorandsoul says:

    oh my! My daughter started her sleeping regressing at 4 months old, she is now 6.5 months old and still don’t sleep through the night. We are trying to do sleep training, but we haven’t been consistent with it. My first daughter was much easier tough… Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Randi says:

    Oh my goodness!!! I soooo remember my daughters sleep regression! Hers last 7 MONTHS ( with the gradual incline to our worst and the gradual decline to much better nights) she was up 1-3 hours a night. Yes 1-3 HOURS she threw a little party every night nursing nursing nursing nursing. I was sooo sleep deprived! She’d also wake up for quick 10 minute nursing sessions 1-4 times more than her hours long parties! IT WAS HELL and we needed professional help! LOL now at almost 4 my girl still wakes at night! SHES a terrible sleeper! So the moral of my story is IT COULD BE WORSE πŸ˜‰ and for a bit of hope I’ve completely adjusted and it doesn’t bother me 1 bit. I just never want that nursing party stage back!

    Liked by 1 person

    • VintageFeminist says:

      Oh no! 7 months?! Well I pray it won’t last that long. Actually last night she slept well. From 930 to 6! We were very pleased. I remember that with nursing. I unfortunately was only able to for 2 months, but it was EXHAUSTING., but so worth all the good nutrition for the little ones!

      Like

Leave a Reply

